Prescription: one biscuit to be taken with a cup of tea

This week a friend sent over an article by Caitlin Moran (who I usually dislike) that I found surprisingly refreshing. She was writing advice to her teenage daughter and one thing that really jumped out at me went something along the lines of “nine times out of ten you’re not having a nervous breakdown you just need a cup of tea and a biscuit. It’s surprising how often you’ll confuse the two”.

It’s been a gloomy October, it got cold all of a sudden. Money is not as flush as I’d like. It’s dark when I wake up and dark when I leave work. Work is crazy busy and stressful. Cold and flus abound. It wasn’t a jolly month. I’d been thinking there was something seriously wrong with me as I was so fed up and miserable all the time. I wanted to take change but I didn’t know what I wanted to change, I just knew I wanted to feel better.  Everything started to feel really overwhelming and I was reduced to tears over mundane things like the mince I’d planned for our dinner going bad.

Then last weekend brought November and a change in the clocks. It’s a little bit brighter in the mornings and it’s crazy how much of a difference this makes to my mental state. Even though this happens to me every year I’m still taken by surprise at how much this affects me. I spent last weekend not doing anything in particular, I tried a new coffee place – I went for breakfast with my boyfriend and didn’t feel guilty that we didn’t save money by eating at home. I skyped friends, read my book and had a cup of tea and a biscuit.

It’s amazing how just taking even 30 minutes for yourself, just to take a break and re-group can bring you back to life.

Leave a Reply

