Homecoming

I’ve been slacking off on blogging lately. I’d like to say that this was because of the hectic Christmas rush, because I was ill or because I just didn’t have anything to say – but in reality it was because I accidentally deleted my reminder to blog.

In fairness it was very hectic coming up to Christmas – we ended up going to two Christmas dinners before I headed home to Ireland, I could say I was sick of it by then but that would be a lie!

Being home is just like I never left….or if I did leave it was only a few weeks ago. The only thing that has really changed is how much bigger my niece has gotten. After a few suspicious looks she’s now accepted that I’m part of the family – I can’t wait to see how much she’s grown by the next time I’m home.

I keep feeling like wherever I am I don’t want to leave….if that makes sense? At home I just want to stay with my family, in Dublin I want to stay with my friends. It doesn’t feel like I’m only here temporarily – anytime I say goodbye to anyone it’s more of a “see you later”……which I will but it just may be a little later than usual.

I’m stuffing my face with Tayto, brown bread and sausages and it feels just wonderful.

 

Leave a Reply

