2016 Reading Challenge

One of my unofficial New Year’s resolutions is to read more so this year I’ve signed up to Goodreads and set myself the challenge of reading 40 books in 2016. I’m hoping I’ll actually end up surpassing this goal.

So far I’ve finished 3 books which makes me 1 ahead of schedule which is great but after my initial burst of reading every chance I got I can feel myself losing the momentum. Another problem is that I re-read books constantly, especially as I have the Kindle app on my phone so whenever I’m waiting for a train or in line I start re-reading an old favourite. Nonetheless, I shall persevere!

Book number one was “Someday, Someday, Maybe” – for all you Gilly Heads this was written by Lauren Graham AKA Lorelai! I actually bought this for my sister for Christmas but she very kindly read it before I headed back so I could read it on the plane. Based on Lauren Graham’s experiences it’s about an aspiring actress who gives herself a deadline to make it as an actress. Set in New York it’s a lovely comforting read and a perfect travel book.

Next up was “The Songbird’s Way” which was a gift….to be honest I didn’t really enjoy this one, found it a bit muddled so let’s move on!

Last was “The Joy Luck Club” which had been on my “to-read” list for a long long time and I’m so annoyed with myself for not reading this sooner. It’s a beautiful book about immigration, mother-daughter relationships and food. I strongly recommend it, I couldn’t stop reading it and missed my streetcar stop on more than one occasion!

I’ll let you know of my progress on this, hopefully the fear of failing in front of an audience will spur me on! Also all recommendations are welcome but please note no Dan Brown or Eat Pray Love or The Secret.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. My Goodreads goal this year is 50 books. Hope I will complete my goal as well. Good luck hihi! (:

    1. onlineness says:

      Good luck! I’m sure we can do it – if not we’ll just have to have weekends of “book binges” šŸ™‚

Leave a comment