Visitors

I was going to title this post “Worlds Colliding” but I realized it wouldn’t be accurate, more like “Worlds meeting and coming together quite well” but it didn’t have much appeal to it.

Two weeks ago my good friend visited from Ireland along with her fiance. This is someone who has known me for almost 16 years. Yikes. We met on our first day of secondary/high school, in our very first class. Who would have thought that 16 years later (Christ) she’d be getting married and I’d be living in Canada? Crazy shit.

Anyway, it was so lovely to spend time with them and to show them the city. I feel a lot more settled now than when my parents visited last year so I felt a lot more comfortable showing people around.

To give them an authentic Canadian experience we went to see a hockey game which was a lot more exciting than the last one I saw (over two years ago now, lol) – our seats were right by the ice and there was lots of fighting.

hockey
Let’s Go Marlies!

After the game,  we had dinner in Medieval Times – another great Canadian pastime. It may be extremely cheesy but it’s a lot of fun.

The next day our voices were a little rusty after all the shouting but we headed to Casa Loma which is a really beautiful spot and which you may recognize from movies like Scott Pilgrim and X-Men.

We then headed down to check out Chinatown and the AGO – a pretty perfect Toronto weekend.

It was so lovely to have them here and to get to act like a tourist in Toronto again. The daily grind means I sometimes forget what a great city I’m living in and all the fun things there are to see and do here.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. We are going to Medieval Times for my son’s birthday next week. I am really looking forward to it! I was hoping it would be mega cheesy.

    1. onlineness says:

      Oh it is but if you’re up for it then it’s so much fun! I hope your knight wins 🙂

Leave a Reply

