Guilt Free Rest Days

I’ve been really trying to up my activity game of late. At the start of May I bought a 3 month unlimited pass for my local Spin studio and I also started some 5k training. So essentially if I didn’t go for a run I would go spinning.

So yea some days I would wake up a bit more tired and sore than usual but I still was feeling great. And yea I would usually have to be in bed by 10pm because I was so tired but I figured it would all be worth it in the end. Feel the burn right?

Then I woke up this morning, feeling ill and I had a dilemma. Should I go to Spin class or should I stay home and rest up? In the end I decided that I shouldn’t push myself and risk feeling even worse so I cancelled the class.

But I couldn’t stop feeling guilty that I hadn’t gone. Even though I logically knew that it was the right thing to do and that I shouldn’t do an intense workout when I’m not feeling 100% – I felt like I shouldn’t be sitting at home. I felt like I was wasting my time and by extension my life.

Why do I find it so hard to take a day off and not feel bad about it? All suggestions and feedback about how to self-indulge without the guilt would be much appreciated.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I feel ya sista! it’s hard to take a rest day and not feel guilty. I always need to tell myself a few times during the day that it’s ok and that i’m not wasting a day. It’s a chance for your muscles to recover and regenerate and that’s just as important as training! you might like this.. https://blog.fitbit.com/6-reasons-why-rest-days-are-important-featuring-dean-karnazes/

Leave a Reply

