Sometimes Decisions Are Made For You

My boyfriend and I talked back in April about our (gulp) long-term plans. I told him I wasn’t sure I wanted to settle in Canada forever and that I missed home. While I do love our life over here, when I think about settling down and having kids – I just don’t see myself in Canada. We made a a tentative plan that we would leave Canada next year – Christmas 2017. We both knew that the longer we stayed the harder it would be to go but it’s a little bit scary to realise that you’re at the age of settling down.

Then we got news that my boyfriend’s application for permanent residency was declined. And reality hit. And we had to move our plans up by about a year and six months.

So as one friend said perhaps having this decision made for us will mean we avoid having to make an even more difficult decision further down the line. Sometimes you can have a plan but life has other ideas. We just have to go with it.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

