Cooking Project: Dumplings

Nothing is more comforting to me than a big plate of dumplings. Enough dumplings so that once you finish them you feel like a dumpling yourself.

I wanted to do something that wasn’t baking as I felt like my last few posts were all focused on baked goods. I’m also a little strapped for cash right now so I wanted to pick something that I wouldn’t have to spend a lot of money on ingredients for and that I could use up some things in that I already had. So dumplings it is!

I didn’t really follow a recipe this time but I read this and this and set off on my own journey. In the interest of time and my own sanity, I did not make my own dough – I picked up some wrappers from our local Asian market. I also picked up some dumpling sauce instead of making my own. Total gansgter over here.

I let the wrappers defrost overnight in the fridge then set to work on making fillings. I ended up making two kinds. I fried a red onion, chili and garlic in sesame oil, then added some pork mince. One of the recipes suggested using sausages which I think is a smart idea, I just couldn’t face the job of removing the sausage from their skins today. Lastly I added in some shredded cabbage and some soy sauce

So this isn’t very authentic, I know. But I just wanted to test this out and see if it would work. For my second filling I just fried some mushrooms with onion and garlic in sesame oil. Then I added some cooked shrimp and soy sauce (no photos because it didn’t really look that appetising!)

I let the fillings cool for a bit and set up an assembly line. Wrappers, two fillings, beaten egg and a floured baking sheet. I put a small amount of filling onto a wrapper, sealed the edges and did my best to create a pleated edge

I found the stuffing and wrapping of dumplings a little bit tricky if I’m honest. I wasn’t too concerned about the shape as long as they were sealed and no filling was leaking out.

To cook them I first fried them until brown in sesame oil and then I added some boiling water to steam them.

I’m very happy with the finished product, I don’t know if I’d try making my own dough but I’ll definitely make these again. I don’t think I’ll need to for a while though, my freezer is stuffed full of dumplings 🙂img_2678

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

