Christmas Biscotti

Hello friends!

I’m sorry it’s been so long but it really was a crazy few weeks leading up to Christmas. It’s great that things are starting to calm down and it looks like January will be a quiet month (due to low funds lol) which I know will be good for me.

As money is a bit tight this time of year for me I decided to bake presents for people. I was short on time so I needed something that I’d be able to turn around in a short window of time but also be a nice treat for my giftees.

Enter chocolate and hazelnut biscotti! I was inspired after having a very delicious biscotti from 3FE Coffee and decided to see for myself if I could make something similar myself.

I opted for no fruit because that can be a bit controversial, my aim was to make something that was as much of a crowd pleaser as possible. I found these to be really easy to make and people are very impressed when you bust these out.

First things first, toast your hazelnuts – this makes your kitchen smell like nutella which is great. There is a bit of faff when you have to skin the nuts but if you wrap them in a clean tea towel for a few minutes then rub off the skins with the towel it makes your life a little easier. Wait for your nuts to cool and then bash them up with a rolling pin so that they’re roughly chopped-ish. I opted for dark chocolate which I cut into small pieces instead of chocolate chips.

I whisked the eggs and sugar together and folded into the other ingredients. The dough came together pretty easily and I moulded into one big sausage shape. I baked for about 30 mins, once it started to brown on top I took it out and cut into slices. The tricky thing here is that the chocolate was all melty and burny – so be careful! I think the next time I make these I’ll melt the chocolate and drizzle over the finished biscotti. I think it’ll help to even out the chocolate distribution.

Anyway, the sliced biscotti go back into the oven at a lower temp to get all crispy. I don’t think there’s a need to flip these – I made these twice, one batch I flipped and the other I didn’t and it didn’t really make any difference except to create more work.

And presto – the biscotti were ready to be packaged! I found some really cute Christmas Tins in Aldi that were perfect for these. They can last for about three weeks in a tin.

One things about giving edible Christmas presents (in my opinion) is finding packaging. Sometimes you can end up spending a small fortune, I think the best thing to do is when you see something that you think will be good for presenting a gift in – get it! Even if Christmas is months away. By the time Christmas comes around they’ll be super expensive.

I hope you all had lovely Christmases, full of good food and good friends!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. BeaFreitas says:

    Looks amazing ! I love how you added so many photos of the progress

Leave a Reply

