2016 – A Review

There’s an old saying “may you live in interesting times”. 2016 was interesting to say the least. Not just with the whole moving back home and finding a new job thing. The whole Trump thing, the feeling that all my childhood heroes were dropping like flies and that growing fear that maybe things aren’t getting better. 2016 was the year that I realised that you can’t leave it to others – that change had to start with myself. Which was a little scary but also empowering. No more excuses!

It wasn’t all self-improvement, I managed to fit some fun in there too 🙂 good friends came to visit and I got to show them my Toronto. I got to see one of my best friends get married, see my niece become her own person and I manged to fit in a couple of holidays.

I think sometimes I feel like I have to measure success in numbers. How many books did I read this year? How many new places did I eat at? How  much did I run? I feel like I put a lot of pressure on myself and maybe forget to enjoy what I’m doing. At the start of 2016 I set out a number of New Year’s resolutions that I wanted to accomplish. Sometimes, this felt a little overwhelming but I’m still glad that I gave it my best shot.

This year I’m going to make my list short and sweet:

  1. Be on my phone less. I’m always on my phone and not only is this annoying to everyone around me but it’s starting to annoy me.My first step is to put my phone down at 10pm each night. Small steps.
  2. Hit my goal weight – at less be closer to it this time next year than I am now.
  3. Continue with my cooking project.

Happy 2017 everyone! May it be the year of looking out for ourselves and each other!

Leave a Reply

