Cooking Project: Biscuits & Gravy

One of my favourite meals of 2016 (I know right, strong statement but it’s true) was brunch at a place called Saturday Dinette in Toronto with some lovely ladies. I was served up some biscuits and gravy with a fried egg. I also had some hash browns, you know in case there wasn’t enough food. It was so delicious and perfectly seasoned and it’s a dish I’ve thought about a lot since coming home.

So I had to recreate it myself, obv. Just before Christmas I had a day off and decided to have a decadent breakfast. I followed this recipe for the sausage gravy and for the biscuits I used this recipe which I often use and has never let me down. Quick word on biscuits – they’re basically the same as scones so don’t let the word scare you. I usually make a large batch and then freeze them which means an almost constant supply of comfort.

So the biscuits were ready to go, I just needed to focus on the gravy. Now, white gravy may freak you out if like me you’re used to brown gravy that’s served with a roast on a Sunday. I get it. I was freaked out too. But just open your mind to other kinds of gravy, I promise it’s worth it.

First I browned up some sausage, treat yourself to some good quality sausage for this recipe, and removed from pan. Then melted the butter and added the flour to create a roux. After cooking for a few mins, this is important cause you don’t want your final sauce to taste floury, start to add your milk. Add a little at a time and use a whisk to create a smooth sauce. If your gravy looks too thick then keep adding more milk until you have a thick but still saucy consistency. At this stage I added in my bits of sausage.

The real verdict….was this as good as what I had in Toronto?

In a nutshell….no. Maybe it was because I was missing the egg and the hashbrowns but maybe it was missing my brunch companions. I’m glad I gave this a go but I think I’ll leave this dish to the professionals.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

