Cooking Project: Blondies

I have never been a fan of white chocolate. I’m that person that screams “it’s not even real chocolate” and throw it far away from me and my loved ones. So when I came across a recipe for Blondies I was skeptical. But after a traumatic incident with brownies (I ate too many of them and now I can’t really be in the same room as one) I thought they might be a new staple to bake for when people come over.

If you’re not aware of Felicity Cloake’s column in the Guardian about how to make the perfect “anything” then you really need to spend a Sunday afternoon drooling over it. I thought her recipe would be a no-brainer to try for the first time. I also made her coffee cake before and it was a lot of effort and totally worth it. So I trust Felicity when it comes to baked goods.

First things first with baking – measure out all our ingredients and have them ready to go. This means a bigger clean up later but will save you in the long run. Oh! And have your pan greased and ready to go too – it’s a major pain to have your batter ready to go then realise you didn’t prep the baking tin.

Melt the butter, once it melts you’ll want to wait until it literally starts to get brown and smells almost toasty. This took longer than I thought so be patient and just let it do its thing! Then leave to cool down and chop up the pecans and white chocolate – it’s up to how how chunky or not you want these to be. Then toast up the pecans in the same pan that the butter was in and try not to eat too many.

Sift the flour and the baking powder and salt into a mixing bowl. Once the butter has cooled down add it into the two sugars and mix (and use a bigger bowl than I did lol). Then add the eggs and vanilla extract into the buttery sugary mix and fold this deliciousness int the dry ingredients plus the nuts and chocolate. Do this gently and try not to batter the batter.

My mix was really chunky and I was bit nervous that my white chocolate chunks were too big – bear in mind that these don’t really melt down in the baking! Bake for 22-25 mins and keep an eye on them! I find that with brownies (and blondies) they can go to overcooked very quickly. Once the top has set remove from oven and put the baking tin (carefully) into cold water – I like this tip to prevent them from over-cooking! Leave there until they’ve cooled – I got a little impatient (they smelled soooooo goooooood) and cut into them before that which meant they were a little gooey in consistency.

GUYS. These were amazing. Buttery, chewy and nutty. I forgot to sprinkle salt on top before baking like Felicity recommends and will definitely try it next time. These went down a major treat at D&D Night and I will be adding them to my arsenal of baked treats.

It’s good to be back!

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebekkah says:

    That’s so sad you can’t have brownies!! I’m pretty sure my own baking indulgence partially triggered my gluten intolerance… these look great, though! Yum. 🙂

    1. onlineness says:

      Haha, it was self-inflicted! These were soooo good!

Leave a Reply

