Cooking Project: Caesar Salad

A nice easy one to kick off April, I say easy because I followed this recipe from Jamie Oliver which uses natural yogurt as the base for the creamy dressing. It’s a way of lightening an unhealthy salad but I countered any good by adding in some bacon lardons and also some croutons…because I feel like it’s not really a Caesar Salad without these.

I took a shortcut for the croutons by using ready-made garlic bread, this was truly a lazy Sunday recipe.

I fried up the bacon till it was nice and crispy and set it aside to cool down. Then I diced up the garlic as small as I could (you could use a garlic crusher but I don’t own one) and diced up two anchovies. This was my first time using anchovies so I sprang for the pricier tin, I may try one of the cheaper ones for next time but I still need to figure out how to use up the rest of my first tin! I mixed these with the yogurt, olive oil, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce and some freshly grated Parmesan cheese. I seasoned it and tasted it – here’s where you can tweak the dressing to your taste, more cheese, more lemon etc.

Then it was time to start building the salad, starting with the bacon – then the lettuce and the croutons

Finally, I dressed and tossed the salad and finished it by a final shower of Parmesan cheese

 

And it’s ready to eat!

Something I’ve always been afraid to try and make at home – it was sooooo good! I can definitely see this become a regular addition to my life.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

