Cooking Project: The Ultimate Red Sauce

After making my Caesar Salad last weekend I had a couple of anchovies left to use up and in my bookmarks I came across this recipe. Seeing as I had all the ingredients for this already in the house, I figured it was a no-brainer to give this a try.

And I’m so glad I did! I really think this is one of the best things I have ever made/eaten. It’s a little more effort and a bit more time consuming than my previous tomato sauce post but it is really worth it.

Start by softening the onions and garlic, you don’t want them to get brown – you want them to cook slowly as it’s more flavourful. While that’s happening you can crush up the plum tomatoes with your hands. It’s a lot of fun. And while we’re talking about tomatoes – I didn’t spurge but I always didn’t get the cheapest ones, you should probably go mid-range for this recipe.

Once the onions and garlic are soft add in the anchovies and break them up while they cook. Not gonna lie, at this point the mix smelled incredibly fishy and I started to have my doubts. Keep the faith, you really don’t taste them in the final product. It’s then time to add in the tomato puree and cook that for a further few minutes until it turns bright red. At this point everything starts to smell AMAZING.

Throw in some red wine, let it cook down for a couple of mins and maybe have a medicinal glass yourself. Lastly, add the tomatoes and fill a tin with some water.  Leave the sauce to simmer for a couple of hours. I couldn’t wait and had some with pasta about an hour into cooking and it was still really good. But the following night I finished off the sauce that had been left cooking for the full 2 and a half hours and it’s really worth it if you can hold off.

I served mine with linguine, some asparagus and spinach. Also parmesan cheese. And a huge smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

