Momofuku Ginger Scallion Noodles

Summer 2015 my friends and I were in New York City and we went to Momofuku.

I had heard of Momofuku and David Chang but to me actually going to eat Momofuku was up there with going to the moon. I knew that people have gone there but I wouldn’t be one of them – it was an unattainable goal. So when I found myself sitting in the noodle bar it’s safe to say I was freaking out. Like almost on the same level as a teenage Beatles fan meeting Paul McCartney, but all internal so I wasn’t sitting there screaming at everyone. The whole memory feels like a dream to me, being in New York with some of my best friends and finally eating at Momofuku.

For my birthday this year my friends gifted me with the Momofuku cookbook which brought all the memories of that weekend flooding back.  I can’t wait to dive into the more complex recipes of the book but for my first trial I stuck with something simple – ginger scallion noodles. This sauce can be used for other things and I ended up only making half of the sauce but it keeps for a few days in the fridge so you could make the full amount. Also, I used sesame seed oil as I actually didn’t have any neutral oil in the kitchen (how embarrassing) so will make this again with a different oil to see what difference it makes. Sherry vinegar was almost impossible to find but if you’re in Ireland I finally found it in Dunnes Stores.

This is a really easy recipe, just slice up the spring onion and ginger and mix with the other ingredients. I used up some leftovers in the fridge, boiled up noodles and tossed it altogether

So simple, so tasty and so comforting!

Leave a Reply

