Mushrooms on Toast

This is a real “all-rounder” meal – suitable for breakfast (just maybe go easy on the garlic), lunch, brunch, dinner, supper…..you get the idea. It’s one that I have so often that I make sure I always have mushrooms, butter and a couple of slices of rustic- style bread in the freezer. My favourite is sourdough but you can use any kind that has a good crust and a billowy inside, sliced pan won’t cut it in this instance.

Use as many mushrooms that you feel necessary – use a big pan so that they have plenty of room to get nice and crispy, if there’s too many mushrooms then they’ll just kinda steam in the pan and be a bit sad. Melt some butter – enough to cover the pan and then a little extra and add in a clove of finely chopped garlic (optional, I understand that not everyone loves garlic as much as me) and let it melt into the butter. Then add in the mushrooms and cook until crispy and delicious. I like to finish them off with a squeeze of lemon juice. Serve on hot buttered toast. If you’re feeling very opulent then add in a poached egg. But honestly I feel an egg takes away the mushrooms spotlight.

Leave a Reply

