Half-Marathon: Getting back on the Horse

A bit of a change from my regular posts of food and indulgence but I am hoping you’ll bear with me.

I’ve been trying to reach my goal weight for over a year now and lately I’ve stalled in my progress. While I know that exercise won’t cancel out a bad diet I’ve signed up to a half marathon to try and motivate me to get back on track.

I think what frustrates me the most is knowing that this is something that I’ll always have to work on. I will never be one of those people that doesn’t have to worry about their weight and that really sucks. But it’s the hand I’ve been dealt and I have to figure out the best way to play it.

Last year I signed up to a 10k with the same hope: that having something to train for  will motivate me more than the scale, because when I just rely on the scale I get a bit “oh well what does the scale know, I’ll just keep eating these M&Ms” whereas training for something like this means I have to make better choices or I feel like crap. I had a few pints last weekend then went for a run the next morning and it was awful. During the past week I’ve tried to eat with the philosophy of my body needs better fuel in order to be able to run and I can feel myself (slowly) getting back into it.

This day 18 weeks is the half and in between my food posts I’ll also be posting my training progress. I think this will help keep me motivated when I feel like giving up.

Week 1

Distance Ran: 8.3km

Longest Run: 3.02km

Average Pace: 7:18

Leave a Reply

