Half Marathon Training: Week 7

Sooooo my training had been going really well and I was all geared up for another great week. Sunday night I felt a slight tickle in my throat but I didn’t think too much of it, I just drank some hot honey and lemon tea and had an early night – expecting to wake up refreshed and raring to go.

I woke up Monday feeling quite ill, but still in denial I just kept dosing myself with cold medicine all day and hoped for the best. Tuesday I had to accept that this wasn’t a simple head cold and I had been hit by a Summer Flu. I kept hoping all week that I would wake up and feel better enough to go for a run but here we are – I didn’t go running all week.

I’m disappointed but realistically I know I couldn’t have ran this week, it wouldn’t have helped me in my training and would only have set me back. The best thing to do now is to focus on getting better and on next week’s training.

Leave a Reply

