Half Marathon Training: Week 9

I’m finally feeling back to my normal pre-flu self. It’s not just that I’m no longer coughing up a lung or running a fever. I actually feel rested when I wake up in the morning and it feels so great. I know I sound really over-dramatic about the whole thing but when you feel lousy for so long you start to panic that you’re going to feel shitty forever and this is just your life now. Thankfully for me there’s light at the end of the tunnel.

I tried to ease myself back into training this week but did have in the back of my mind that I hadn’t run a long distance in a few weeks and that I needed to break down that barrier in my mind and get one done. So I very slowly and with a good few walking breaks did 12k this week. My speed wasn’t as good as I’ve done before but to be honest I was just concentrating on enduring long distances again. By the time I hit 11k I wasn’t too far from my house and was tempted to just give in and that 11k was a fine distance, then on my headphones “Eye of the Tiger” came in – the perfect song to get me through the last 1k!

This week I want to concentrate on fueling my body with the good stuff and staying hydrated and just not feeling like every run is a massive struggle.

Week 9

Distance Ran: 26.2km

Longest Run: 12.0km

Average Pace: 8:07

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Eye of the Tiger definitely pushes me through as well 😍. Glad you are feeling better!

    1. onlineness says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ lol yea it’s a real motivator!

Leave a Reply

